Jaguar Primary Schools Challenge Inter-District Races Get Underway

The 2018 Jaguar Primary Schools Challenge competition has reached a crunch time with inter-district races. Three top ten teams will be heading to the Regional Races in September before the Provincial race in December to determine the overall 2018 competition winning team.

The 2018 season has attracted over 33 teams from various schools in Gauteng. The teams have been segmented into various districts, and the inter-district races are being held over the months of August to September. The ten top teams from each district; namely Johannesburg East and North and Central; Gauteng West and North; Tshwane North and South; and Tshwane South and West; will go through to battle it out for a spot in the regionals.

The Gauteng West and North inter-district race was held on Saturday 4 August at Sci-Bono. The race had fourteen teams from the Ekangala and Baapsfontein area battle it out. The overall winner of the day was team Mach 4 from Laerskool Witpoort in Baapsfontein. They were also winners of best-engineered car, best verbal presentation, best portfolio display and knock-out race winners.

Second place went to Magic Flash from Hlolisisa Primary School who also won the fastest car. Third place was shared between Shooting Stars from Mandlamsobo Primary School and Fastest Cheetah from Hlolisisa Primary School.

The next inter-district race will be on Saturday 8 September. This will see teams representing schools from Tshwane North and South taking part in the competition.