Gauteng Schools Embrace 2018-2019 Jaguar Primary Schools Challenge Competition

The start of the 2018-2019 Jaguar Primary Schools Challenge Competition has seen schools and teams from Gauteng embracing the races that have been taking place at Scibono Discovery Centre in Johannesburg.

The first race was held on 12 May and had 14 teams representing eight schools from the Johannesburg South and West districts. The overall winning teams were ‘The Big Five Hunters’ from Lejoeleputsa Primary School in Meadowlands, Soweto. Second place went to team ‘Fast and Furious’ from Orange Farm Primary who also won the fastest car category.

Third place went to team ‘No Limit’ from Jozua Naude Primary School, Roodepoort, who also won the best-engineered car. Team ‘Force 1’ from Glenanada Primary School walked away with the best portfolio, best verbal presentation and overall knock-out race winners.

The second race took place on 19 May where ten teams competed, representing Johannesburg South, West as well as Ekurhuleni North districts. On race day, the deputy chief education specialist for NS and Tech, Mr P. Padayachee and senior education specialists visit the competition to encourage the teams.

The overall race winners were: first place was team Fearless who won the best-engineered car, knock-out race, best portfolio and pit display, and fastest car. Second place went to team Fire Balls who won best portfolio and pit display. Third place went to team Spirit Burners. Other accolades were handed to Infinity Racing for best verbal presentation.

Race three saw 13 teams from eight schools from Ekurhuleni North and South on May 26. After a much-contested day of racing, the winners were: Team Thunderbolts who won best portfolio, best verbal presentation and overall first place. They were closely followed in second place by team Decepticons who won best-engineered car. Third place went to team Fire Breakers. Team Autobots won the fastest car and team Fast 4 were the knock-out race winners.

The top 10 winning teams from this district race will automatically qualify for the regional races to be held with 30 teams.

The next race will take place on 2 June at Sci-Bono. This will see teams representing schools from Gauteng East and Sedibeng East and West taking part in the competition. Teams wishing to be part of this prestigious competition can register on the website at:  or contact Pieter on +27 11 466-1440.